
TTHHEE  LLOOCCAALL  CCHHOOIICCEE  EE--NNEEWWSS    
Department of Human Resource Management                                                                     
State and Local Health Benefits Programs 
September 22, 2011 
 
Flu Shot Program at Participating Pharmacies  
 

Key Advantage and TLC HDHP participants may again get a flu shot with $0 co-pay at 
pharmacies participating in the TLC/Commonwealth of Virginia’s flu shot program.  Each 
plan’s list of participating pharmacies is posted on the TLC website at 
www.thelocalchoice.virginia.gov, along with a question and answer sheet and flyer for your use 
with employees.  Plan members should call ahead to be sure that the pharmacy is participating 
in the program and that flu shots are available

Attached are flu shot guidelines for groups that wish to coordinate flu shots onsite with 
participating pharmacies.  Again, be sure that the pharmacy is participating in the TLC 
program before scheduling a clinic. 

.  An appointment may be required.  Kaiser plan 
members have access to free flu shots at participating Kaiser medical centers.    

 
GASB Liability Requests 
 
TLC groups will not need to use actual claims experience in the development of GASB 
Liability, but should use actual rates and enrollment to develop a claims cost assumption.    
From the TLC employer’s perspective, the plan works like an insured arrangement in which 
each group pays the Commonwealth on a fixed per contract per month basis for the health care  
program they choose.  This fixed payment represents the full cost to the group during the plan 
year in return for reimbursement of all covered expenses, claims and administrative cost for the 
group.   
 
In addition, The Commonwealth of Virginia maintains a separate fund for TLC in which 
premiums are deposited and from which claims and administrative costs are paid.  Any fund 
deficits are the responsibility of the Commonwealth and may not be charged to a TLC group 
that remains in the plan. Please share the attached memo regarding GASB Liability with your 
actuary. 
 
Timely Premium Payment 
 
We know financial times are tight but please remember that premiums are due on the first of 
each month. The Virginia Administrative Code provides for a 10 day grace period, however, if 
payment is not received by the 10th of the month due, an interest penalty of 12% per annum 
shall be imposed.  If the premium is not received during the grace period, a delinquency notice 
will be sent to the Local Employer advising of the premium due and the penalty application. 

 
Payments must be received by the 10th of the month to avoid penalty. 
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